Search
  • MoreTeacherTalk

Creating Outstanding Primary Science in the Classroom and at Home, with Tom Holloway



In this episode we hear from Tom Holloway from the Primary Sciece Teaching Trust.  He shares a wealth of ideas to inspire and engage pupils in outstanding Science learning.  We discuss a range of topics, including teaching the Sustainable Development Goals through Science, Biomimicry and finding the true purpose of Science education for all.


Some green chemistry info for educators

· https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/greenchemistry/students-educators/online-educational-resources.html

· https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/greenchemistry/students-educators.html

Biomimicry resources:

· Biomimicry for kids https://asknature.org/collections/biomimicry-for-kids/

· StemAZing biomimicry: https://stemazing.org/biomimicry/

· Thinkdive biomimicry for young children: https://thinkdivebiomimicry.com/

General Science/home learning

· Primary Science Teaching Trust, https://pstt.org.uk/

o https://pstt.org.uk/resources/curriculum-materials/Science-Fun-at-Home

o https://pstt.org.uk/what-we-do/why-how-newsletter

o https://pstt.org.uk/what-we-do/primary-science-teacher-awards

· Science Sparks, https://www.science-sparks.com/

o Easter themed activities, https://www.science-sparks.com/fun-easter-science-experiments/

· Wow Science, https://wowscience.co.uk/

· Explorify, https://explorify.wellcome.ac.uk/

· Science Museum, https://learning-resources.sciencemuseum.org.uk/

· Royal Institution Experimental, https://www.rigb.org/families/experimental

· BBC Terrific Scientific, https://www.bbc.co.uk/teach/terrific-scientific

· OPAL – Explore Nature, https://www.opalexplorenature.org/

· Reach Out Reporter, https://www.reachoutreporter.com/

· The Woodland Trust, Nature Detectives, https://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/blog/2020/03/kids-nature-activities-self-isolation/

· Encounter Edu, https://encounteredu.com/

· Marvin and Milo, https://spark.iop.org/collections/marvin-and-milo#gref

· BP Educational Service, https://bpes.bp.com/

· Kids Against Plastic, https://www.kidsagainstplastic.co.uk/

CPD

o PSTT CPD Units, https://pstt.org.uk/resources/cpd-units

o Reach Out CPD, https://www.reachoutcpd.com/

o STEM Learning online CPD, https://www.stem.org.uk/online-cpd

Biomimicry

o https://www.reachoutreporter.com/feature/biomimicry-lotus-leaf/

o https://pstt.org.uk/resources/curriculum-materials/cutting-edge-science-primary-schools

Recommend Reading

o The Age of Wonder, Richard Holmes

o The Knowledge, Lewis Dartnell

o It’s not fair, or is it?

With thanks to Tom Holloway for Science references and Erik D. Olson for additional links

22 views
 
  • Twitter
  • Facebook

©2020 by moreteachertalk